E-Learning 3rd and 4th Grade

March 30th, 2020

 

Dear Parents and/or Guardians,

 

Prairie Crossing Charter School is utilizing Remote Learning days to constitute days of lost instruction due to Covid-19 as allowed by the Illinois School Board of Education. By utilizing Remote Learning days, instruction is allowed to continue so that students may stay current with their coursework. 

 

The ¾ gradeband has worked together to modify lessons for your child to complete during remote learning days. All of these assignments are a continuation of the learning taking place within the classroom. Some assignments require a computer or tablet. If you do not have access to a computer or wifi, please let us know so that we may make alternate arrangements. We anticipate that students will complete most, or all, of the assignments independently. Your child will have assignments in core subject areas, as well as, Art, Music, Spanish, and P.E. each day.

 

During remote learning, all assignments will be posted on your student’s remote learning Google Classroom by 9:00 am. Teachers and assistants are available on Remote Learning days from 9:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. to answer questions via email. Please include the teacher and assistant in your email. We will do our best to answer questions within one hour if you email between 9:00 am and 2:30 pm on school attendance days. Teachers will also have “office hours” as stated below to answer questions on Zoom, and/or email, as well. 

 

Attendance:

Teachers and instructional assistants will be taking attendance daily. Students will be considered “present” daily by 3:00 by doing both of the following items:

 

  1. Students will complete the google form shared with them by their homeroom teacher each day by 2:30 pm. This form will be posted daily in google classroom.
  2. Students must actively participate in school work and/or attend a Zoom meeting if one is scheduled.

 

Methods for Showing Completion of Assignments:

  1. Complete assignments in Google Classroom 
    1. Attach a Google Document
    2. Attach a Google SlideShow
    3. Attach a picture
  2. Taking a picture of a written assignment and emailing the picture to their teacher and instructional assistant.
  3. Working on, and completing, an assignment in IXL, Raz Kids, or another website that students log into.

 

E-Mail:

Students in ¾ will now be able to use their own email accounts. These accounts will become active this week on Wednesday, April 1st. Each student’s current Google login and password will also be their student email. Please know that students will only be able to send emails to students and teachers within PCCS. They will not be able to send or receive email from outside the school. Administration can view all email activity and closely monitors flagged activity. Teachers will be reviewing how to safely and respectfully use email with their students this week. 

 

Video Conferencing:

Teachers may schedule zoom meetings with your student for academic purposes. If a Zoom meeting is scheduled, it will follow the times below. These times allow students from all grade levels to participate with their teachers.  Additional meetings may also be scheduled with teacher/instructional assistant per teacher discretion. We may record these meetings for students that cannot participate in the live meeting. These meetings will mostly be in a small group or whole class format. Occasionally, teachers and instructional assistants may meet with your student individually to provide one on one assistance. 

 

Teacher  Ms. McNally Ms. Hahn Mrs. Larson Mrs. Ottaviani
Zoom Meeting time 11:30-12:00 10:30-11:00 11:00-11:30 11:00-11:30

 

Office Hours

Third-grade and fourth-grade teachers and assistants will be on Zoom, and/or email, on school attendance days from 1:30 pm to 2:00 pm. During this time, teachers and assistants will both be available for your student to ask questions they may have, and to be of general assistance. Teachers and assistants will be available via email throughout the school day as well.

 

We appreciate your support, partnership, and patience in guiding your student through the Remote Learning Processes. Please reach out to your student’s homeroom teacher and instructional assistant with any questions or concerns.

 

Sincerely,

The ¾ Gradeband Team

 

Lynn Hahn Megan Ottaviani

lhahn@pccharterschool.org mottaviani@pccharterschool.org

Tammy Steinbeck Quentin Siegel

tsteinbeck@pccharterschool.org qsiegel@pccharterschool.org

 

September Larson Sydney McNally

slarson@pccharterschool.org smcnally@pccharterschool.org

Helen Trage Brooke Seitz

htrage@pccharterschool.org bseitz@pccharterschool.org

 

Sue Tomei Kyle Fiorelli

stomei@pccharterschool.org kfiorelli@pccharterschool.org

Ashley Martinez Robb Freeman

amartinez@pccharterschool.org                                                  rfreeman@pccharterschool.org

 

3/4 Specials Teachers:

Spanish: Lisette Roman-Alghrim Art: Andy Thomas

 lromanalghrim@pccharterschool.org athomas@pccharterschool.org

 

Music:  Rachel Klug PE/Health: Chris Loustaunau 

rklug@pccharterschool.org cloustaunau@pccharterschool.org

JoshFlinn   

jflinn@pccharterschool.org