

PCCS Board of Director's Meeting Approved OPEN MINUTES

Tuesday, May 28, 2019 7:00 PM Vicky Ranney Library Upper Wright Schoolhouse 1591 Jones Point Road Grayslake, IL 60030

PRESENT

Ed Jamison, President Nell Anen, Vice President Nick Kotzamanis Sue Ross Marcelo Chiodi Devon Mann Dan Fedor Jim Mertz Abe Janis, Secretary

ABSENT

Stacey White, Treasurer

STAFF

Geoff Deigan, Executive Director Megan Ottaviani, 3rd/4th Gr Teacher Quentin Siegal, IA Naomi Hershiser, Dean of Environmental Learning

Call to Order 7:01pm

Vice President Mrs. Anen

Pledge of Allegiance

Mission Moment: Mrs. Ottaviani's 4th grade students Jonah Sattler and Zoë Janis gave a presentation on their proposal to introduce alternative herbicides to PCCS

Recognition & Appreciation: Theresa Wright

Mr. Deigan

Motion to Approve Agenda

Motion by Mr. Fedor, seconded by Mr. Kotzamanis. On a voice vote, all "ayes".

Discussion Agenda

1. Legislative Updates

Presented by Mr. Deigan

2. Status of Charter Contract

No updates

3. Long Term Bond Financing Update

Presented by Mr. Deigan

4. Final Approval of FY19 School Calendar

To be amended: Change Thanksgiving break from 11/27 to 11/26

5. Legal Bills

Presented by Mr. Deigan

6. Committee Updates

Academic Excellence: Ted Erski has joined committee

Election Committee: Mrs. Anen, Mr. Mertz, and Mr. Chiodi to review committee composition in

upcoming BOD meeting

Public Comment N/A

Consent Agenda

- 7. Reports and Financial Statements
 No questions
- 8. Open Session Minutes of Previous Board and Committee Meetings Open Session Minutes for April 23, 2019 Board Meeting
- 9. Motion to Accept Reports on Consent Agenda Motion by Mr. Kotzamanis, seconded by Mr. Mertz. On a voice vote, all "ayes".

Closed Session:

Motion to enter closed session by Mr. Jamison, seconded by Mr. Kotzamanis. On a roll call vote, all "yes". Closed session entered at 8:13pm, exited at 10:54pm.

Discussions related to 5ILCS 120/2(c)(5) -The purchase or lease of real property for the use of the public body.

10. Item B Status

Discussion related to 5ILCS 120/2(c) (2) Collective negotiating matters between the public body and its employees or their representatives, or deliberations concerning salary schedules for one or more classes of employees.

11. FY 17 CBA Contract Renewal (hand carried)

Discussion related to 5ILCS 120/2(c) 21-Discussion of minutes of meetings lawfully closed under this Act, whether for purposes of approval by the body of the minutes or semi-annual review of the minutes

12. Review Closed Session Minutes from Previous Board Meetings

Discussion Related to 5ILCS 120/2(c)(1) The appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the public body or legal counsel for the public body.

- 13. Executive Director Performance Review & Contract Renewal
- 14. FY20 Employee Roster and Summer Work Employees
- 15. New Staff

Public Comment N/A

Action Agenda

4A – Final Approval of FY 19 Calendar

Motion by Mr. Chiodi, seconded by Mr. Kotzamanis. On a voice vote, all "ayes"

5A – Approve Legal Bills for \$3,929.50

Motion by Mr. Kotzamanis, seconded by Mr. Chiodi. On a roll call, all "yes"

11A – Authorize CBA Contract

As presented. Motion by Mr. Jamison, seconded by Mr. Mertz. On a roll call, all "yes"

12A – Approve Closed Session Meeting Minutes for Previous Board Meetings Motion by Mr. Jamison, seconded by Mr. Chiodi. On a voice vote, all "ayes"

13A – Approve Executive Director Contract

As discussed. Motion by Mr. Mertz, seconded by Mr. Jamison.

On a roll call, Mr. Jamison, Mrs. Anen, Mr. Chiodi, Mr. Mertz, Mrs. Mann, Mr. Fedor, Mr. Kotzamanis, Mr. Janis: "yes"; Mrs. Ross "no" based on need for additional information. Contract approved.

14A – FY20 Employee Roster and Summer Work Employees

Motion by Mr. Chiodi, seconded by Mr. Mertz. On a roll call, all "yes"

15A – Approve New Staff N/A

New Business: June Board Retreat scheduled for June 25

Motion to adjourn by Mr. Kotzamanis, seconded by Mr. Fedor. All "ayes"

Adjourned 10:58pm

Respectfully submitted,

Abe Janis Board Secretary