

# Parent-Elected Election Committee Approved Minutes Monday, October 1, 2018 @ 3:30 pm Kennicott Building – Teachers' Lounge 1531 Jones Point Road Grayslake, IL 60030

Call to Order—3:32PM Brian Conlon, Committee Chair

Members attending: Mr. Conlon, Mrs. Siegel, Mrs. Dybas, Mrs. Bendorovich

**Also attending:** Mrs. Anen

# **Discussion Agenda**

• Tabulate election results

84 votes would be required to certify the candidate based on 30% of the 280 ballots issued. 68 votes were cast for the candidate. Therefore, the candidate cannot be certified for the parent-elected position.

• Discuss details of pending communications and next steps

Mrs. Dybas will create a draft communication to the community conveying the results. Mr.

Conlon will share with the board President and approve.

A new election cycle will be started. The following dates were determined:

- Election start date (the "x" date): October 4, 2018
- Submission deadline: Monday, October 29, 2018 at 3:30PM
- Ballots distributed: November 9, 2018
- Ballots due: Monday, November 26, 2018 at 3:30PM

Minor corrections to the draft minutes were discussed.

### **Public Comment**

No public comment was made

### **Action Agenda**

• Approve minutes of previous meetings

A motion was made by Mrs. Dybas to approve the corrected parent-elected election committee minutes from September 6<sup>th</sup>, 2018. Motion seconded by Mrs. Siegel. Motion passed on voice vote.

• Certify election results

A motion was made by Mrs. Siegel to declare that the election results could not certify the candidate for the parent-elect position. Motion seconded by Mrs. Dybas. The motion was passed on a roll-call vote with all members present voting in the affirmative.

• Approve details of pending communications and next steps
A motion was made by Mrs. Siegel to approve the communications and next steps as discussed.
Motion seconded by Mrs. Dybas. Motion approved on voice vote.

## **New Business – Future Agenda Items**

Restart another round of the parent-elect process

# Adjourn-4:12PM

A motion to adjourn was made by Mrs. Siegel. Motion seconded by Mrs. Dybas. Motion approved on voice vote.

Thank you for attending the meeting of the PCCS Board of Education. You are asked to limit your remarks to the Public Comment opportunities and to under four minutes. Respect and courtesy toward everyone present is expected. Public comment by any person acknowledged is not to be interrupted by anyone else. Individual board members do not respond to public comment, nor does the board at its business meeting engage in discussion with the public.

For questions or comments, please e-mail the Board at board@pccharterschool.org. Board e-mails are received and responded to by the Board President as soon as possible, usually within a week. Other board members are also informed of these correspondences prior to each monthly board meeting. The PCCS Board of Directors:

President: Ed Jamison Vice President: Nick Kotzamanis Treasurer: Brian Conlon

Secretary: Abe Janis Angela Lewis Devon Mann
Dan Fedor Sue Ross Marcelo Chiodi

Nell Anen

Parent-Elected Election Committee Committee Members:

Brian Conlon, Chair Heather Bendorovich Dil Dybas

Janette Siegel TBD