

# Parent-Elected Election Committee Approved Minutes Tuesday September 6, 2016 @ 3:30 pm Kennicott Building – Teachers' Lounge 1531 Jones Point Road Grayslake, IL 60030

Call to Order: 3:33

Brian Conlon, Committee Chair

Members Attending: Mrs. Dybas, Mrs. Siegel, Mrs. Bendorovich, Mr. Conlon

Members Absent: Mrs. Palmer

## **Discussion Agenda**

1. Review Election policies, timelines and previous elections

- 2. Discuss specific actions to be taken to certify candidates during the present meeting
- 3. Discuss ballot setup and distribution, voter rolls, posting redacted applicant information and election communications

Election Buddy will be used again this year.

A motion was made by Mrs. Bendorovich, seconded by Mrs. Dybas, passed on a voice vote (all "ayes").

An election-specific email should be created as <u>election@pccharterschool.org</u>. Mrs. Dybas will talk to Mr. Coonan about getting it set up. This will get routed to Mrs. Bendorovich. Previously such emails were routed to the PSO president but the PSO president is not part of the committee.

Announcement language was reviewed and it was decided to use it as-is again this year.

### Ballot timeline will be:

- 9/14—Email notification to community regarding ballot
- 9/15—**Ballots issued** via Election Buddy
- 9/16—Reminder in Friday email
- 9/23—Reminder in Friday email
- 9/28—Email reminder with election committee agenda
- 9/29—**Ballots due** 9/29 at 3:30pm. Election closes.

Mrs. Bendorovich will be primarily responsible for Election Buddy and will work with Mrs. Palmer who set it up in previous years.

4. Process submitted applications for the purpose of the certifying candidates

A single application was found in the submission box. This was for Ed Jamison. Members each reviewed the submission for completion. No problems voiced.

5. Redact submitted applications for the purpose of posting candidate information

Personally identifiable information was redacted (struck through with marker) and reviewed. Copies were made. Mr. Conlon will contact Mr. Jamison to ask for his addition review, redaction and approval for posting of the information. Like previous years a subset of the submission can be posted on Election Buddy, the school website or both per the candidate's wishes.

### **Public Comment** 5 Minutes

No public comment.

### **Action Agenda**

3A - Approve ballot setup, voter rolls and election communications A motion was made by Mrs. Siegel to approve the setup, dates and communications as discussed; seconded by Mrs. Dybas; all "ayes"; motion carried.

# 4A - Certify Candidates

A motion was made by Mrs. Dybas to certify Ed Jamison as a candidate for the open parentelected board position; seconded by Mrs. Siegel; all "ayes"; motion carried.

### 5A - Approve redacted information

A motion was made by Mr. Conlon to approve redacted information; seconded by Mrs. Siegel; all "ayes"; motion carried.

### **New Business - Future Agenda Items**

10 Minutes

Brian Conlon

Meeting to be scheduled on 9/29 to process the election results.

# Adjourn: 4:16pm

Sue Ross

A motion to adjourn was made by Mrs. Dybas; seconded by Mrs. Siegel; all "ayes"; motion carried.

Thank you for attending the meeting of the PCCS Board of Education. You are asked to limit your remarks to the Public Comment opportunities and to under four minutes. Respect and courtesy toward everyone present is expected. Public comment by any person acknowledged is not to be interrupted by anyone else. Individual board members do not respond to public comment, nor does the board at its business meeting engage in discussion with the public.

For questions or comments, please e-mail the Board at board@pccharterschool.org. Board e-mails are received and responded to by the Board President as soon as possible, usually within a week. Other board members are also informed of these correspondences prior to each monthly board meeting. The PCCS Board of Directors:

Angela Lewis

Ed Jamison, President Jeff Barhorst Nick Kotzamanis Sean Daw Dan Fedor

Parent-Elected Election Committee Committee Members:

Brian Conlon, Chair Heather Bendorovich Dil Dybas

Janette Siegel Christine Palmer